• Cllr Jacob Birch

2023 Review of Parliamentary constituencies

The Boundary Commission for England is the independent organisation responsible for reviewing Parliamentary constituency boundaries in England.

Mid Holderness Ward would move under the proposals from Beverley & Holderness Constitency to Bridlington & Holderness.

These proposals also see the like of South West Holderness move from the current Beverley & Holderness Constitency to Hull East Constituency.

The number of constituencies in the Yorkshire and the Humber region will remain at 54

By law, every constituency proposed must contain between 69,724 and 77,062 Parliamentary electors (as at 2 March 2020)

As far as possible, the commission try to have regard to local ties, geographic factors, local government boundaries (as they were known at 1 December 2020), existing constituencies, and minimising disruption caused by proposed change

The commission use local government wards as the building blocks for proposed constituencies, but will consider splitting a ward where there is a strong case for doing so that helps us better respect the factors above

You can use this website to:

  • view current constituency and local authority boundaries;

  • view our proposals for new constituency boundaries; and

  • submit a response directly to us about our proposals (during a defined consultation period).

From the second consultation period onwards, you will also be able to:

  • view the responses submitted by others; and

  • submit a comment directly to us, supporting or contesting a response from somebody else.

Consultation is currently open until Tuesday 2nd August 2021 - please make sure we receive your response by that date at the latest, or it will not be considered.

Click here for more information and to visit the consultation website:

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All